Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
April 2nd Press Release from ESU 4 Schools
April 2nd Press Release from ESU 4 Schools
Danielle Henderson
Thursday, April 02, 2020

For Immediate Release

April 2, 2020

To Families in ESU 4 School Districts:

ESU 4 schools will be operating in an alternative learning environment for the remainder of the school year.

Per Governor Rickett’s Directive Health Measure, all schools in Nebraska will remain closed and operate in an alternative learning environment for the remainder of the 2019/2020 school year.  With this directive, all schools are closed to students until May 31st and according to the NSAA, all remaining activity practices and competitions, including district and state competitions, have been cancelled for this school year.

Traditional graduation ceremonies are not going to be possible this May. Schools will be working to determine appropriate alternative methods to honor the Class of 2020 in each community, whether that be a ceremony at a later date or some other locally determined alternative graduation that complies with the guidance of health officials.

We continue to monitor the unfolding COVID-19 epidemic to anticipate its impact on our state.  We are working with the Southeast District Health Department (SEDHD), the Nebraska Department of Education (NDE), and other state and local officials on this situation. We will continue to communicate important updates to the public and our partners.  

The CDC is putting out updated guidance daily; for the most up to date information visit:  To learn more about COVID-19, go to


ESU 4 Superintendents and School Leaders

Auburn Public Schools, Education Service Unit 4, Falls City Public Schools, Falls City Sacred Heart Schools, Humboldt-Table Rock-Steinauer Public Schools, Johnson-Brock Public Schools, Johnson County Central Public Schools, Lewiston Consolidated Schools, NCECBVI, Lourdes Central Catholic School, Nebraska City, Nebraska City Public Schools, Palmyra-Bennet Public Schools, Pawnee City Public Schools, Southeast District Health Department, St. Andrew Elementary School, Sterling Public Schools, Syracuse Public Schools