Calvert Elementary – 2017 National Blue Ribbon Award Recipient
, ,

Calvert Elementary – 2017 National Blue Ribbon Award Recipient

Calvert Elementary was one of four school in Nebraska and 1 of 342 schools across the nation to receive the National Blue Ribbon Award for 2017. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. Calvert Elementary received the award for being an Exemplary High Performing School. Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

“National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos to the honorees. “You are visionaries, innovators and leaders. You have much to teach us: some of you personalize student learning, others engage parents and communities in the work and life of your local schools and still others develop strong and forward-thinking leaders from among your teaching staff.”


Comments from Principal Jackie Kelsay:

We are very honored to have received the Blue Ribbon Award for an Exemplary High Performing School for 2017. This affirms the hard work and commitment our entire student body, staff, families, and community have toward excellence in education. This starts with The Auburn Board of Education, Mr. Kevin Reiman, Superintendent, Dr. Nancy Fuller, Curriculum Director/School Improvement, and Mrs. Amy Kroll, Special Education Director who guided us with the resources needed for exemplary teaching and learning.

Our Mission Statement – Achieving Success Through Innovation and Excellence! Our Children . . . Our Future! sums up our belief in what we strive for everyday when we enter the doors of Calvert Elementary. Our belief is that ALL students can learn, we just have to find what works best for each and every student! Our environment is family centered where we want everyone to feel welcome and safe when they enter our doors!

Calvert Elementary staff and the surrounding community strive to achieve success through innovation and excellence. Teachers put in countless hours to provide excellence to each and every student. Our teachers believe in the potential of every student, and they expect positive results and progress, regardless of a child’s background or socioeconomic status. We pride ourselves in providing our students with a quality education that includes dedication, compassion and determination so that all our students are able to meet their highest potential. As we have done with our students in the past, our students today, and our students in the future, the staff of Calvert Elementary will continue to collaborate, differentiate, and accommodate the needs of all our diverse learners in our ever-changing world to provide high standards of excellence for our dynamic students.

I am very proud of honor for my students, staff, families, and our community! We are a TEAM where “Together Everyone Achieves More!”


Comments from Superintendent Kevin Reiman:

I am very proud that Calvert Elementary has been chosen for the 2017 National Blue Ribbon Award. It speaks to the hard work of our students, teachers, staff, Board of Education, parents, and community. The growth in student learning under the leadership of Principal Jackie Kelsay and supported by School Improvement Director Dr. Nancy Fuller and Special Education Director Amy Kroll has been tremendous. Our teachers and staff are truly dedicated to student success. This award reflects that dedication.

I would also like to thank and acknowledge our all of our teachers and staff, parents, community, and organizations that support our students. Organization like Auburn Sixpence, the Auburn Backpack Program, Calvert PTO, and ESU4 are key partners in our success.


This is second National Blue Ribbon Award for Auburn Public Schools. Auburn Middle School received the award in 2007.